Golf round-up

Round the local golf courses

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 19th May 2016, 8:04 am
A charity golf day is being held at Ponteland.
A charity golf day is being held at Ponteland.


Results from the first two weeks of the North Northumberland League are:

Division One: Alnmouth A 11, Berwick 1; Bamburgh 10, Dunstanburgh A 2; Alnwick 5, Rothbury 7; Dunstanburgh A 4, Alnmouth A 8; Berwick 9, Alnwick 3; Rothbury 3, Bamburgh 9.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Division Two: Percy Wood 8, Seahouses 4; MFGC A 11, Alnwick 3; Burgham Park 10, Longhirst 2; Alnmouth B 8, Percy Wood 4; Seahouses 6, Burgham Park 6; Longhirst 10, MFGC A 2.

Division Three: Dunstanburgh B 8, MFGC B 4; Wooler 10, Warkworth 2; Alnmouth Village 4, Linden Hall 8; MFGC B 8, Alnmouth Village 4; Linden Hall 8, Wooler 4; Warkworth v Dunstanburgh B – no result.

Alnmouth Village

Gents Centenary Cup: 1 David J Fairbairn 88-21=67; 2 Steve Forman 73-5=68; 3 Richie Campbell 71-2=69; 4 Andrew Stanton 73-4=69; 5 Bill Lawn 77-6=71.

2016 Order of Merit: After six events we still have a clear, runaway leader in Andrew Stanton 49pts; 2 Darryl Taylor 29; Joint 3 Norman Luke and Richie Campbell 26; 5 Steve Forman 22.

Seniors nine-hole Strokeplay: The winner was Geoff Smart nett 31; 2 Dougie Miller 32; 3 George Forman 34; 4 George Ridgway 35; Joint 5 Bob Stephenson, Bob Hill, Ian Blakey, Jack Kidd and Russell Archibold 37.

Seniors Order of Merit: After five events the leading contenders are: 1 Jack Kidd 39pts; 2 George Forman 32; 3 Steve Lockley 31; 4 Bob Boyle 30; 5 Les Aitken 28.


It was a blanket finish in the Feel Good Trophy last weekend when three players ended up two shots ahead of the field on a super score of nett 65.

Gordon Johnstone must have thought he had cracked it after his early morning round only to be edged into third place by Guy Ridley, who himself must have thought the numero uno position was his, only for Steve Miller teeing off late in the afternoon to leapfrog both of them on countback and claim first place.

Despite two birdies at the fourth and fifth and an eagle two at the 10th, Ian Tate’s 67 was only good enough for fourth place.

The win moves Steve up to third in the Easyway Order of Merit behind Alan Black and Wayne Belisle, who still heads the ranking points.

In the Seniors Summer Series John Pentleton took the honours with an amazing 41points, a full five shots ahead of Ken Burn, Tom Somerville, making his maiden competitive appearance of the season and Kenny Boyd who all scored 36 points and were placed second, third and fourth in the order shown above on countback.

After the first three rounds of the nett scored Pacitti Cup, Michael Friar leads with a three round score of 211, followed by Joe Henderson on 215 and Alan Black and Duy Lam on 215.

In the corresponding gross competition, The Sponsors Cup, Joe Henderson is out in front on 227, followed by Colin Donaldson on 237 and Steve Barron on 246.

The Feel Good Trophy/May Medal: 1 S Miller 77-12=65; 2 G Ridley 69-4=65; 3 G Johnstone 82-17=65.

Bamburgh Ladies

Medal and K Storey and Smeddle Brooch Qualifier (Second round): Winner Wendy Martin 87-17-70; R/U Susan Temple 78-6-72.


Archibald Lamp: 1 T Poole 83-20=63; 2 C Lawn 75-9=66; 3 G Baston 89-20=69; 4 T Bamigbade 85-16=69; 5 J Southward 71-2=69; 6 J Laidlaw 84-15=69.

Peter Clarke Memorial Trophy: 1 R Phipps 40pts; 2 JE Clarke and L Aitken 38; 3 J Weddell and J Craigs 36.

4 BBB Competition: 1 B Laidlaw and J Laidlaw 43pts; 2 M Nicholson and N Butler 43; 3 M Wingfield and L Denny 41.

Foxton Ladies

Spring Meeting: Best Net - Spring Tankard, DW Duns 81-12=69. Watson Cup: S Gladstone 83-15=68. Best Gross – Cadogan Medal: D Weddell 76; R/U Wilson Snuff Box, M Kilmister 76. Overall: 1 S Gladstone 83-15=68; 2 DW Duns 81-12=69; 3 A Dacre 86-15-71; 4 S White 80-7=73; 5 L Wynne 84-11=73; 6 R Phipps 82-8=74.

Mixed Texas Scramble: 1 Mrs A Clough, Mrs J Tuer, Mr A Clough, Mr G Tuer 70-7=63; 2 Mrs S Burton, Ms M Turner, Mr G Burton, Mr T Batey 76-6.8=69.2; 3 Mrs P Smith, Mrs D Lillie, Mr DW Duns, Mr H Graham 76-6.3=69.7.

Ladies’ Beginners Golf Group Coaching: Foxton have put together a series of five one-hour group coaching sessions for ladies interested in playing golf.

These are from Saturday, June 4, at 2pm and Monday, June 6, at noon, all for £25, which includes free use of the driving range and all practice facilities as well as six vouchers for a coffee and cake or glass of wine. To book a place, ring 01665 830231.

EWGA Medals: Silver J Wheeler 98-19-79 from H Hardy 97-18-79 and A Cole 93-13-80.

Bronze: L Grey 103-24-79; R Hopkinson 106-26-80; I Wright 104-21-83.

Nine-Hole Stableford: B Cromie 15pts; from A Myers 15.

Percy Wood

JKO (Round one): 1 R Gander 34pts; 2 C Sampson 34; 3 J Jobson 33.

Ladies Medal Three: 1 J Angus 124-32= 92; 2 V McMillan 130-36=34.

Ladies Stout Trophy: 1 J Sampson 36pts; 2 L Kenney 34; 3 A Stewart 29.


Rita Wade Trophy: 1 Debbie Finch 6down; 2 Julia Stott 7down; 3 Maureen Day 7down.

Ann Storey Trophy: 1 Eileen Clark 90-17-73; 2 Julia Cairns 114-36-78; 3 Helen Foggon 104-25-79.

Four-man Team Stableford: 1 Dan Grist, Jamie Morris, Niall Richardson, Alan Watson 86pts; 2 Michael Arkle, Paul Arkle, Philip Evans, Philip Gregory 86; 3 Stephen Clark, Ken McCall, Billy Rodgerson 84.

Stableford: 1 Thomas Morris 42pts; 2 John Stevenson 39; 3 John Brown 39.

Seahouses Ladies

Medal number four: 1 Lynne Swan 98-24-66; 2 Anne Locke 77-7-70; 3 Diane Cairns, 89-17-72.

The winner of the nine-hole competition was Val Sim.

The Summer Salver was played on Sunday and the winner was Diane Cairns 87-17-70; 2 Eileen Robinson 102-31-71; 3 Hazel Hardacre 94-18-76. Best gross was Diane Cairns.

The winner of the nine-hole competition was Lynda Pinder.


RNLI Shield: 1 Michael Lucas 36pts (back nine); 2 Dave Coates 36; 3 Nev Holden 35 (back nine).

The 2s were shared by Simon Walker (two) and Dave Coates.

Daily Mail Foursomes: The Club pairing of Mel Pattison and Gary Scott beat Burgham Park 3&2 to advance to round three.


The Proctor and Makepeace Greensomes was held on Saturday, and the winners were Richard Lowrey and Geoff Tong on 38pts ahead of Eric Laidler and Geoff Brown on 37.

On Sunday the Chairman’s Cup round two was held and the winner with 41pts Trevor Crossman beating John Ewing with 40, into second place.