Golf round-up

A look at the results from the local courses

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 22nd June 2016, 10:31 am
Updated Wednesday, 22nd June 2016, 11:33 am
A charity golf day is being held at Ponteland.
A charity golf day is being held at Ponteland.

NN League

Results from the quarter-finals of the Glendale KO Cup last week were:

Alnwick beat Warkworth; MFGC A beat Linden Hall; Rothbury beat Alnmouth A; MFGC B v Bamburgh - no result.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Alnmouth Village

Millenium Trophy (Stableford): 1 Andrew Stanton 42pts; 2 Andy Smiles 38; 3 Geoff Lillico 36; 4 Russell Archibold 35; Joint 5 Richie Campbell and Paul Dixon 34.

2016 Order of Merit: The runaway leader pulls further ahead: 1 Andrew Stanton 72pts; 2 Richie Campbell 46; 3 Darryl Taylor 41; 4 Geoff Stancliffe 38; 5 Gary Batson 35.

Seniors Mid-Summer Cup (Club competition): 1 Les Aitken 19pts; 2 Bob Boyle 17; 3 Ian Blakey 17; 4 David Gleadall 17; 5 Dave Hodge 17; 6 Bob Hill 16. There were four players on 17 points but the countback system sorted out the correct order.

Seniors Order of Merit: After nine of the 20 events the current leader is Jack Kidd 57pts; 2 Dave Hodge 48; 3 George Forman 45; Joint 4 Bob Boyle and Les Aitken 44; 6 Ian Blakey 36; Joint 7 John Clark and Dougie Miller 35.

Ladies’ Open: 1 J Oswell, B Herbert, K Smith (Longhirst) 80pts; 2 J Steele (AVGC), A Spence, M Tully (Rothbury) 78; 3 C Wilson, D Reape, S Philips (Gosforth) 76. Nearest the pin at the 10th: J Swan and A Thompson (Hexham), both 18’ 8”

There were no 2’s, so the £66 has been donated to the Evie Campbell trust fund.

WI Cup (Round two): 1 Edna Yeadon 108-35=73; 2 Viv Archibald 108-27=81 (on back nine); 3 Dorothy Wilkinson 100-19=81.

WI Cup (Final scores): 1 Dorothy Wilkinson 77+81=158; 2.Edna Yeadon 94 +73=167; 3 Bev Harris 87+83=170.

Members are reminded that this Saturday (June 25) the club are holding a Mid-Summer Madness event. It is a 5am shotgun start, 9x4 man teams, Tex-Mex Scramble, Ladies welcome to participate. Just £5 per person entry (£20 per team) to include champagne breakfast afterwards.

Alnwick Ladies

June Medal: 1 Jill Clark 98-27-71, 2 Margaret Walton 90-17-73, 3 Tracey Friar 94-20-74.

Medal/Carter Cup (Round four): 1 Margaret Walton 89-17-72; 2 Chris Acaster 97-22-75; 3 Carrie Robinson 101-26-75.


Blackeath Trophy: 1 P Sanderson 40pts; 2 A Smith 37; 3 D Kirkbride 37.

Charity event

A total of 47 teams of four players per team competed over the immaculately presented course at Foxton Hall in the 15th annual Alnwick Rotary Club Charity Golf Day courtesy of the committee.

From entry fees, raffles, sponsorship and donations, over £6,700 was raised for Rotary charities.

The major beneficiaries this year are to be the Great North Air Ambulance, HospiceCare North Northumberland, Josie’s Dragonfly Trust and Macmillan Cancer Care as well as many other local charities who will be presented at a special event at the Alnwick Cricket Club on July 7.

The prize-winners of the golf competition this year were: 1 Terry Long and the DG’s 102pts; 2 Former Alnwick DC 100; 3 PD Quick 99.


Sutherland Memorial: 1 M Leetham and M Page 78-12.4-65.6; 2 D Jackson and D Banbury 85-17.2-67.8; 3 I Murdy and B Greenley 79-10.4-68.6; 4 G Mallaburn and D Williams 77-8-69.

Camozzi/Long Flutes Foursomes: 1 Caroline Broome and Dorothy Wilkinson; 2 Linda Dixon and Judy Ronson.

Foxton Ladies

Daphne Percy Cup & EWGA Medal: Winner of the Daphne Cup was A Allanson 123-29-94. Silver: L Johnston 91-14-77, A Cole 94-13-81, S Brierley 96-14-82. Bronze: J Steele 95-22-73, G Dixon 95-21-74, J Tuer 110-28-82,

9-hole stableford: 1 M Kilkenny 14pts, 2 A Myers 13 pts.

Percy Wood

Sam Gattens Memorial Day: Team Harrison 253.5 nett.

Gents Open: 1 J Jobson and R I Campbell 44pts, 2 M Popely and K Jagiello 41; 3 D Fannon and S Anderson 41.

Seniors W Murray 4BBB Stableford: 1 T Miller and K Thompson 43pts; 2 J Hendry and S Hay 41; 3 K Hicks and R Lightfoot 40.

Ladies Medal (Four): 1 B Dixon 110-31=79; 2 G Harvey 119-36=83; 3 L Smith 113-28=85.


President’s Cup (Round one): 1 Greg Woodburn 79-10-69; 2 David Wood 78-07-71; 3 Billy Rodgerson 90-18-72.

Clarke Pairs: Gross: 1 Angela Robinson and Joy Henderson 87; 2 Mary Tully and Anne Spence 89; 3 Eileen Clark and Pat Arkle 94. Nett:1 Rita Wade and Maureen Day 66; 2 Angela Robinson and Joy Henderson 66; 3 Mary Tullyand Anne Spence 69.

Seahouses Ladies

Lady Captain’s Day: 1 Susan Trimby with a great score of 41pts; 2 Eileen Robinson 35; 3 Lorraine Bewley 32.

Nearest the pin at the first Alison Claydon and at the 10th, Pam Fawcus. Margaret Sutherland was nearest to the line at the fifth.

The team prize was taken by the team of Susan Trimby, Lorraine Bewley and Lynne Bannister with 104pts. The nine-hole winner was Lynda Pinder 14pts; R/U Val Sim 13.


Centenary Trophy: 1 Graham Sawley 81-13=68; 2 Phil Douglas 89-20=69; 3 Paul Douglass 82-12=70.

The 2s club was shared seven ways.

Mixed Open: 1 David and Linda Smith (Nelson GC, Lancashire) 41pts; 2 Jim and Sharon Herron (Longhirst GC) 40; 3 Kevin Ayre and Alison Thompson (The Hobson GC) 39 (back nine).

Robinson Trophy: 1 John Gray and Louvain Wraith 35pts; 2 John Heron and Audrey Jones 33.

Seniors Open: Places for the Seniors Open on Thursday, September 8, are filling fast. If you wish to play please complete and return the form on the Club website or on the Club entry on Golf Empire.


The Chairman’s Cup fourth round was held on Saturday and the runaway winner was Andrew Carr with 44 points ahead of Geoff Brown on 38.

Sunday was the third and final Club Championship Qualifier and the winner was Sandy Jeffrey 89-20-69; R/U Ryan Carr 82-9-73.

Anyone wishing to take place in the Curry Cup on Saturday should meet at the clubhouse for 12.45pm for the draw.