Five teams qualify for NNL cup finals

This year's final of the Robson Cup in the North Northumberland League will be contested by Shilbottle and Craster Rovers after they won their respective semi-finals on Saturday.

In the Sanderson Cup, it is Amble St Cuthbert and Newbiggin Reserves who will contest the final, while Tweedmouth Harrow have made it through to the final of the Runciman Cup.

Robson Cup

Alnwick Town Res 1

Craster Rovers 7

Craster ran out comfortable winners at the end of this tie. Four goals up at half-time, they netted another three before the final whistle, with Alnwick scoring a consolation goal during the second half. Glen Robson (3) , Richard Stanwix (2), Sean Angus and Liam Jefferson were the Craster scorers, with Ryan Woolley the Alnwick scorer.

Wooler 0

Shilbottle 2

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Shilbottle progressed to the final of the Robson Cup following this hard-fought encounter at The Martins, Wooler.

In a very even first half, neither side created much by way of clear-cut chances and it was no surprise that the interval arrived without a goal. It was the Colliers who eventually broke the deadlock after 65 minutes in rather fortunate circumstances.

An effort from Michael Freathy from outside the box took a wicked deflection and looped over a stranded Wooler keeper.

Shilbottle effectively settled the tie 10 minutes later when a fine strike from Stephen Shendon from the edge of the box found the bottom corner of the net. The Colliers then had little difficulty in holding out for a well-deserved victory and a place in the final.

Sanderson Cup

Embleton WR 1

Amble St Cuthbert 3

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

A Brad McClelland goal gave Amble a first-half lead but Danny Donohoe equalised for Embletonbefore half-time. In the second half, Karl Taylor scored to give Amble the lead and a second goal from McClelland sealed the tie for Amble.

Belford 1

Newbiggin Res 6

A good performance from Newbiggin gave them a deserved win at the final whistle.

The first half was fairly close with the visitors leading by a single goal at half-time. During the second half, they netted three more before Kevin Greshon pulled a goal back for Belford but the visitors then went on to score two further goals before the end. Goalscorers for Newbiggin were Richard Burn, Rhys Farrell and Stephen Lucas with two apiece.

Runciman Cup

Tweedmouth Harrow 3

Rothbury 1

Following a good even first half, Harrow led by a single goal at half-time. The second half was again close and although Gareth McCann netted for Rothbury, it was Harrow who took the tie with two further goals before full-time. Goalscorers for Harrow were Jordan Richardson (2) and Nicol MacPherson.

Fixtures for Saturday (April 28) are:

Bilclough Cup SF - North Sunderland v Newbiggin Res; Embleton WR v Amble St Cuthbert.

League - Alnwick Town Res v Wooler; Tweedmouth Harrow v Shilbottle CW; Belford v Rothbury.

Related topics: