Embleton WI, Meeting

The president Mrs Norma Ham welcomed members of Embleton WI and the visiting WIA, Mrs Ann Dixon, to the annual meeting in the Parish Rooms.

By The Newsroom
Saturday, 28th October 2017, 6:00 am
Updated Tuesday, 12th December 2017, 9:22 am
Embleton Bay Beach
Embleton Bay Beach

The meeting commenced with the singing of Jerusalem, accompanied on the keyboard by joint secretary Mrs Jean Lawrence.

Minutes of the September meeting and matters arising were dealt with, before Mrs Joan Little gave a report of the local sub-committee on the centenary celebrations of 2018, together with a request for memorabilia.

Joint secretary Mrs Judith Hazelhurst highlighted literature from the national office and events arranged by the Federation, together with an invitation from Belford WI.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

A dominoes win and an enjoyable, but not successful, quiz evening were noted.

Numbers were confirmed for the annual Christmas celebration at Hexham Abbey.

Arrangements were finalised for the November meeting when the members will hear of the activities of RAF Boulmer.

WIA Mrs Dixon took our annual meeting business, starting with a satisfactory balance to commence the new year.

Jean Lawrence presented the annual report, which showed a diversity of speakers and subjects, from cookery to foreign travel, together with visits by members to other WIs and county events.

The president recalled some of her highlights, before adopting the annual report.

She then announced the results of the 2016-17 Competition Cup awards as follows: 1 Ann Craft; 2 Lynne Harris; 3 Joyce Laidler.

Ann Dixon spoke briefly of future county events, including centenary events, such as a proposed visit to Liverpool and a county raffle.

The opening of a new WI in the county and the increase in membership, both county and countrywide, was discussed.

The confirmation of Embleton committee membership was followed by a ballot for the post of president, which saw Mrs Joan Little elected as the new president.

A vote of thanks and presentation was made to the WIA, before Marjorie Hewitson gave thanks to the retiring president and to members of the committee.

Competition winners for the letter ‘J’ were: 1 Jean Cockeril; 2 Ann Craft; 3 Judith Hall.

Raffle prizes were won by Norma Ham and Jean Lawrence.

Tea and biscuits gave everyone a welcome break and a chance for a chat.

Tea over, the committee met again for yet another meeting.