ELECTION 2017: Live blog from Northumberland

Keep up to date with all the latest news from the election here, as it happens.

Thursday, 8th June 2017, 2:05 pm
Updated Tuesday, 13th June 2017, 2:46 pm
The country is voting in the General Election today.

We’re at the leisure centre in Blyth, where all four Northumberland constituencies – Berwick, Blyth Valley, Hexham and Wansbeck – will be counted.

This blog will be updated throughout the night, with predictions, pictures, results and reactions.

Armed police at the election count in Blyth. Picture by Jane Coltman

2pm: Northumberland County Council is reminding residents who are eligible to vote at its at 228 polling stations across the county, which are open until 10pm.

Over recent weeks, polling cards have been sent to residents through the post informing them of their elector number and their local polling station. While it is helpful if the card is brought along when residents vote, it is not essential, so if you’ve mislaid it, you can still vote, as long as you are registered and eligible.

If you are unsure where your local polling station is you can log on to www.northumberland.gov.uk and type your home postcode into the My Place box on the top right hand side of the home page. This will bring up details of your nearest polling station.

Will Booth, elections manager at Northumberland County Council, said: “By casting your vote, you will be helping to decide how the UK is run. Voting enables you to help decide who represents your local area in parliament and it is their job to raise local issues and support you as much as they can.”

Armed police at the election count in Blyth. Picture by Jane Coltman

6.45pm: Not voted yet? Here’s a reminder of who’s on your ballot paper.

Berwick: Scott Dickinson, Labour; Julie Porksen, Liberal Democrat; Thomas Stewart, Green Party; Anne-Marie Trevelyan, Conservative.

Blyth Valley: Ronnie Campbell, Labour; Dawn Furness, Green Party; Ian Levy, Conservative; Jeff Reid, Liberal Democrat.

Hexham: Wesley Foot, Green Party; Fiona Hall, Liberal Democrat; Stuart Miles, Ukip; Guy Opperman, Conservative; Stephen Powers, Labour.

Wansbeck: Chris Galley, Conservative; Melanie Hurst, Ukip; Ian Lavery, Labour; Steve Leyland, Green Party; Joan Tebbutt, Liberal Democrat.

10pm: Well, that’s it then. The votes are cast and the polls are closed. Our team - Ben O’Connell, Jane Coltman and Ellie Lyall - is in place to bring you all the news from the Northumberland count as it happens.

We’ll be with you through the night. Get the kettle on, break open the biscuits and stay with us.

10pm: The general election exit poll suggests the Tories will be the largest party but may not have a majority.

The NOP/Ipsos MORI poll for BBC/ITV/Sky survey taken at polling stations across the UK suggests the Tories could get 314 MPs, Labour 266, the Lib Dems 14, Ukip none and the SNP 34.

10.30pm: Armed police are on patrol at the election count in the leisure centre at Blyth.