Councillors’ allowances

Details of how much Northumberland county councillors were paid in allowances and expenses over the last financial year have been revealed.

The amounts claimed include a basic allowance, set at a standard £12,624 for each member regardless of their role in the authority, plus any additional responsibility allowance (SRA) - given for chairing a committee or sub-group - mileage, travel fares and subsistence.

Amble’s Coun Robert Arckless had £4,758 SRA, total £17,382. Rothbury’s Coun Steven Bridgett total £12,624. Coun Gordon Castle, Alnwick, £12,150 SRA, £1,119 mileage, total £25,893. Wooler’s Coun Anthony Murray claimed £3,554 mileage, total £16,178.

Coun Glen Sanderson, Chevington with Longhorsley, had £12,150 in SRA, £593 mileage, total £25,367. Bamburgh councillor Pat Scott had SRA of £12,150, £3,159 mileage and £53 in fares, total £27,986.

Deputy leader of the council, Roger Styring, for Lesbury, £18,090 in SRA, total £30,714.

Longhoughton’s Coun John Taylor had SRA of £3,713, mileage £3,408, fares £28 and subsistence £20, total £19,795.

Coun Trevor Thorne, for Shilbottle, took SRA of £12,150 plus £1,207 mileage, totalling £25,982. Coun Jeff Watson, Amble West with Warkworth, SRA of £5,400, mileage of £1,157, fares £17 and subsistence £16, total £19,215.