Comedy team's award nomination

Kind-hearted comedy club organisers, who have helped turn laughter into fund-raising cash, have been nominated for a Best of Northumberland award.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 5th August 2016, 2:00 pm
Kian Musgrove
Kian Musgrove

The team behind Punch Drunk Comedy has been put forward for the Fund-raiser of the Year title, after efforts to collect money for various good causes.

Gigs have been held at numerous places around the county, such as Blyth, Bedlington, Ashington and Cramlington, and featuring the likes of US comedian Reginald D Hunter, among other acts.

The shows have helped raise money for a variety of charitable causes, including Princess Ellie’s Trust, Bradley’s Smile Trust, Nathan’s Needs, John Joseph’s Journey and Seb & Olivia’s Den.

Earlier this year, Punch Drunk committed a portion of funds from its UK Comic’s Boxing event towards helping North East youngster Kian Musgrove receive specialist treatment in the USA for a rare and aggressive childhood cancer called neuroblastoma.

The nomination for Punch Drunk Comedy is just one of the entries to come in for this year’s Best of Northumberland awards, and over the past few weeks, we have been profiling some of those who have been put forward for a prize across the 13 categories. But there is still time to nominate, with the deadline for entries closing on Friday, August 19.

We are encouraging readers to nominate individuals and groups in the county who go above and beyond the call of duty and/or show incredible strength and courage in the face of adversity. The deadline for entries is Friday, August 19.

Organised by Northeast Press – publishers of the Northumberland Gazette, Morpeth Herald and News Post Leader – and Tweeddale Press’s Berwick Advertiser, the awards are a celebration of bravery, determination, commitment and achievement.

We are looking for people who, in their everyday lives, have managed to do something extraordinary for the benefit of themselves and others.

Recognising a cross-section of local heroes, the categories are Community Group; Community Champion; Student of the Year; Sporting Achievement; Fund-raiser; Child of Achievement; Child of Courage; Green Champion; Role Model; Volunteer; Sports Team; Good Neighbour; and Lifetime Contribution Award.

The winners will be presented with their awards at a ceremony at Linden Hall, Longhorsley, on Thursday, September 15. The headline sponsor of the event is the Banks Group, who is also sponsoring the Green Champion.