Which Covid tier are you in? The full list of areas of England in Tiers 1, 2 and 3

The Government has now confirmed which areas of England will go into which tier of lockdown before Christmas.

Each area of England has been placed into one of three tiers – the system is similar to the one in place ahead of the lockdown that was imposed in early November, though the restrictions under each band have been toughened from the previous regime.

The Prime Minister has announced a new three-tier system of local lockdown measures for England in an effort to control the spread of Covid-19.

What are the new Tier 1, 2 and 3 measures?

Across all tiers:

People can leave their homes for any purpose and can socialise in outdoor places, subject to the rule of sixCollective worship and weddings can resumeShops and wider leisure facilities including gyms can reopen

New Tier 1 measures:

People should work from home wherever possibleLast orders at hospitality venues at 10pm, with curfew extended to 11pm

New Tier 2 measures:

Alcohol can only be served at hospitality venues as part of a substantial mealLast orders at hospitality venues at 10pm, with curfew extended to 11pm

New Tier 3 measures:

Bars, restaurants and all hospitality venues will remain closed, except for takeaway and deliveryIndoor entertainment and hotels will remain closed

Which areas of England are in which tiers?

Tier 1: Medium alert

South East

Isle of Wight

South West

CornwallIsles of Scilly

Tier 2: High alert

North West

CumbriaLiverpool City RegionWarrington and Cheshire


YorkNorth Yorkshire

West Midlands

WorcestershireHerefordshireShropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands


East of England

SuffolkHertfordshireCambridgeshire, including PeterboroughNorfolkEssex, Thurrock and Southend on SeaBedfordshire and Milton Keynes


all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

East SussexWest SussexBrighton and HoveSurreyReadingWokinghamBracknell ForestWindsor and MaidenheadWest BerkshireHampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and SouthamptonBuckinghamshireOxfordshire

South West

South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and SedgemoorBath and North East SomersetDorsetBournemouthChristchurchPooleGloucestershireWiltshire and SwindonDevon

Tier 3: Very High alert

North East

Tees Valley Combined Authority:

HartlepoolMiddlesbroughStockton-on-TeesRedcar and ClevelandDarlington

North East Combined Authority:

SunderlandSouth TynesideGatesheadNewcastle upon TyneNorth TynesideCounty DurhamNorthumberland

North West

Greater ManchesterLancashireBlackpoolBlackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

The HumberWest YorkshireSouth Yorkshire

West Midlands

Birmingham and Black CountryStaffordshire and Stoke-on-TrentWarwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

Derby and DerbyshireNottingham and NottinghamshireLeicester and LeicestershireLincolnshire

South East

Slough (remainder of Berkshire is tier 2: High alert)Kent and Medway

South West

BristolSouth GloucestershireNorth Somerset

When will the tiers next be reviewed?

The next review of the tiers is due on December 11.