This is Ryanair’s advice to customers after many EU countries announce UK flight ban

Ryanair has issued an urgent statement to customers after some EU countries banned the entry of UK flights.

Travellers due to depart from or return to the UK in the coming days will receive an email notification from the airline explaining their options.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Flights from 20 to 24 December

Ryanair customers who had flights booked between 20 and 24 December which have been banned by EU Government regulation will be allowed to move their booking free of charge, or request a refund if they wish.

In a statement, the airline said, “For any flights to/from the UK in the coming days (Dec 20th to 24th) which are banned by EU Govt regulation, all affected customers will receive an email notification and they will be offered practical alternatives, including free moves (no charge fee applies) or refunds if they so wish.

“In the case of all other flights to/from the UK which are permitted to fly, Ryanair will operate these flights to facilitate all passengers who need to travel for business reasons and are booked on them or wish to move to these flights.

“If any such passengers (booked on operating flights) do not wish to travel during the next 5 days prior to Christmas, then Ryanair will facilitate a free move of their booking (no charge fee applies) to any date up to 15th Mar.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Customers who have any queries about their booking are asked to contact [email protected] for more information.

Alternatively, you can contact the airline by submitting a query or claim via the website.

UK travel restrictions in force

The statement from Ryanair comes after several European countries have banned flights from the UK in an effort to prevent a mutant strain of Covid-19 crossing their borders.

France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Belgium, Austria, Bulgaria, Finland, Denmark and the Netherlands have all said they will halt flights arriving from the UK, while the Czech Republic has imposed stricter quarantine measures for people arriving from Britain.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Turkey and Morocco have also announced they will be suspending air travel from the UK, while the official Saudi Press Agency reports Saudi Arabia is suspending international flights for one week.

El Salvador is barring entry to anyone who has visited the UK in the preceding 30 days and Canada is putting a 72 hour long stop on flights from the UK.

An EU crisis meeting will take place today (Mon 21 Dec) to discuss how the response to the outbreak of the new coronavirus strain will be handled among the 27 member states.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson is also due to chair a meeting of the UK government’s Cobra civil contingencies committee today.