Show is a feast for the senses

Hansel and Gretel, Alnwick Playhouse, Friday, November 2, 7.30pm. Tickets £11, £10 conc, £8 child/student, then touring.

THOUGH it’s as old as the hills, the story of Hansel and Gretel comes up shiny and new for our consumerist times in the latest performance from Northumberland Theatre Company.

This is a new telling of an old tale, thanks to playwright Mike Kenny.

Hansel and Gretel are starving, living in a house where there’s nothing to eat.

They soon find themselves living in a house where everything is to eat, including the house itself. But unfortunately they are the main thing on the menu.

Come and see them fall out of the frying pan and then climb out of the fire.

Northumberland Theatre Company will light up a dark winter’s evening with something that’s gothic, funny, scary and exciting.

Selected future dates for Hansel and Gretal:

Wednesday, December 7: Bamburgh Pavilion, 7.30pm.

Thursday, December 8: Whalton Village Hall, 6.30pm.

Friday, December 9 : Lowick CofE First School, 6pm.

Friday, December 23: Capheaton Village Hall, 6.30pm.

Saturday, December 24: Capheaton Village Hall, 1pm.

Thursday, December 29: Abbeyfields First School, Morpeth, 6.30pm.

Tuesday, January 3: Glanton Memorial Hall, 6.30pm.

Wednesday, January 4: Kielder County First School, 6.30pm.

Thursday, January 5: Rothbury Middle School, 6.30pm.