A packed selection of autumn delights

Lucy Porter
Lucy Porter
0
Have your say

The smile on her face says it all. And by looking at Alnwick Playhouse’s new programme, it is easy to see why centre manager Jo Potts is beaming from ear to ear.

As she admits, the autumn billing is exciting, different and offers something for everyone.

Anna Netrebko as Tatiana and Mariusz Kwiecien as Eugene Onegin.

Anna Netrebko as Tatiana and Mariusz Kwiecien as Eugene Onegin.

From an award-winning singer to the appearance of a famous stand-up comedian, the line-up for the next few months certainly offers plenty to smile about.

Perhaps one of the stand-out aspects of the programme is the series of performances which will be broadcast live from the Metropolitan Opera House in New York.

These include The Nose, by Shostakovich, on Saturday, October 26, and Tosca by Puccini on Saturday, November 9.

The venue will also be screening the first live cinema broadcast from the stage of the Royal Shakespeare Company, with the sell-out production of Richard II – staring former Doctor Who star David Tennant in the title role – from Thursday, November 14, to Saturday, November 16.

David Tennant, RSC Onscreen-  Richard II

David Tennant, RSC Onscreen- Richard II

On top of this, the Playhouse will continue to host live streamings from the National Theatre (NT) and Bolshoi Ballet.

NT shows include Frankenstein (on Saturday, November 2), which is directed by Oscar-winner Danny Boyle of Trainspotting and Slumdog Millionaire fame.

Bolshoi Ballet performances include Spartacus, on Sunday, October 20, and Sleeping Beauty, on Sunday, December 22.

Comedian Lucy Porter will present her show, Northern Soul, on Thursday, November 28, while award-winning folk singer Heidi Talbot performs on Saturday, November 23.

They’ll be dancing in the aisles when the Playhouse hosts T.Rextasy and Buddy Holly and the Cricketers on Friday, October 25, and Thursday, December 19, respectively.

A frighteningly good Hallowe’en treat is in store on Monday, October 28, when Blackeye Theatre performs Dracula on Monday, October 28

There is plenty for younger theatre goers too, including the festive treat Snowdome. This gentle, wintry experience aimed at little ones takes place on Friday, December 20, and Saturday, December 21, as well as Saturday, January 4.

For a full programme, visit www.alnwickplayhouse.co.uk