DCSIMG

Take a step back in time to site of historic battlefield

Walkers can take a step back in time to parts of a historic battlefield not previously visited.

Walking tours of Flodden Ridge, led by local archaeologists, historians and writers, will be held on March 29 and 30, at 11am and 2pm.

Each will present a different perspective on the site, the battle and its protagonists.

The wooded ridge is about one mile south of the battlefield and shows the location that King James had chosen for his army, just before the Battle of Flodden on September 9, 1513.

Alistair Bowden, project coordinator for Flodden 1513, said: “This is an ideal circular walking route around the Flodden Ridge and is newly-accessible to the public.

“Visitors can see Sybil’s Well, which is thought to have supplied the Scots with water, and the King’s Chair where King James IV waited for the English army.”

Dr Chris Bowles, archaeology officer for the Scottish Borders Council, gives the first tour on March 29 at 11am.

Alistair Bowden gives the second at 2pm.

On March 30, the 11am tour is led by local writer and poet Noel Hodgson, with the 2pm tour conducted by Northumberland archaeologist Dr Chris Burgess.

The free two-hour tours meet in the car park by the ruined cottages at Blinkbonny Farm.

Spaces can be booked by emailing flodden1513@gmail.com or just go along.

If visiting at other times, the circular walk takes about one hour and 15 minutes to complete.

 

Comments

 
 

Back to the top of the page