Candidates announced in running for council seat

Rothbury polling station
Rothbury polling station

Five candidates are are in the running to take over the Longhoughton ward on Northumberland County Council.

The seat became vacant when Coun John Taylor died at the beginning of last month.

Coun Taylor was an independent county councillor for 13 years, and a district councillor from 1986 to 2009.

A by-election will be held on Thursday, July 24, and five people from across the political parties have put their hats into the ring for votes.

Standing for the Liberal Democrats is Kate Cairns, who lives at Newton-by-the-Sea.

Former Alnwick District councillor and retired police inspector John Hope, of Hillcrest Park, Alnwick, is standing for the Conservative and Unionist Party.

Nicola Morrison, of Simonside Crescent, Hadston, is representing the Labour Party . She also stood as a candidate for the Bamburgh seat in the 2013 council elections.

Wendy Pattison, of Rock village, is standing as an independent in the election

Michael Weatheritt, of Abbeylands, Alnwick, who stood for MP for the Berwick-upon-Tweed constituency, is representing the UK Independence Party.

Voting will take place throughout the day on July 24 with polling stations across the ward, which spans from Powburn across to the north Northumberland coast and down to Boulmer.