Bamburgh to mark its fallen from the First World War

Hugh Ross, killed at the Battle of the Somme on September 15, 1916.
Hugh Ross, killed at the Battle of the Somme on September 15, 1916.

Bamburgh Heritage Trust will commemorate the centenary of the First World War and the Battle of the Somme with a special exhibition in the crypt of St Aidan’s Church this weekend.

The crypt will be open to the public from 11am to 3pm on both Saturday and Sunday.

The special exhibition in the crypt is the culmination of years of research and work by volunteers from the village.

The Heritage Lottery Fund First World War: Then and now fund enabled community volunteers to look at the impact of the Great War on the village of Bamburgh.

They researched the young men who went to war, the war effort at home and on farms, and the stories of the soldiers who returned to village life and what they did after the war.

The wealth of information gathered has informed the exhibition as well as the creation of a fictional diary for Mr Little, Bamburgh’s school teacher. This beautifully illustrated book will be available at the exhibition.

The exhibition includes an interactive map where the audience can explore the village through the second edition Ordnance Survey map, together with images of First World War soldiers and veterans and Bamburgh in the early 20th century.

The exhibition in the crypt also offers the opportunity to see the Anglo-Saxon ossuary. Members of Bamburgh Heritage Trust will be on hand to provide more information.

As previously reported by the Gazette, the specially-created ossuary is the culmination of years of work by Bamburgh Heritage Trust and the Northumberland Coast AONB Partnership. Following the final committal in June, it now houses 110 Anglo-Saxon skeletons, which were excavated between 1998 and 2007 from the sand dunes to the south of Bamburgh Castle by Bamburgh Research Project.