A Midsummer Night’s Dream local tour dates at a glance

A Midsummer Night’s Dream centres around the grand wedding of the Duke of Athens, Theseus, to the Queen of the Amazons, Hippolyta and includes the adventures of four young Athenian lovers and a group of amateur actors who are manipulated by the fairies that inhabit the forest in which the play is set, to wonderful comic effect. NTC’s autumn tour of Shakespeare’s classic play will see the company perform all over the country. The Gazette takes a look at the dates and venues closer to home. For tickets, contact the relevant venue. The shows listed start at 7.30pm and are suitable for families with children aged 11+.

Thursday, September 6

Hindmarsh Hall, Alnmouth. Contact 01665 830894.

Friday, September 14

Etal Village Hall. Contact 01890 820777.

Wednesaday, September 19

Bamburgh Pavillion. Contact 01665 721061.

Thursday, September 20

Acklington Village Hall. Contact 01670 761941.

Friday, September 21

Chatton Village Hall. Contact 01668 282271.

Saturday, September 22

Longhirst Village Hall. Contact 01670 790764.

Saturday, October 13

Morpeth Town Hall. Contact 01670 857167.

Wednesday, October 24

Kirkwhelpington Village Hall. Contact 01830 540263.

Thursday, October 25

Glanton Memorial Hall. Contact 01665 578229.

Friday, October 26 and Saturday, October 27

Alnwick Playhouse. Contact 01665 510785.

More details, visit www.northumberlandtheatre.co.uk or call 01665 602586.