Belford looks back

Adderstone - June 15, 1927.
Adderstone - June 15, 1927.

Following grant funding of £30,000, the recently-opened Belford’s Hidden History Museum is holding an open day tomorrow (Sunday, September 15, 2013) between 10am and 4pm to coincide with the national Heritage Open Days event.

A fascinating collection of cine films has recently been acquired by the museum and are being shown for the first time on Sunday.

They were made by a local resident during 1977 and show various Silver Jubilee events in Belford.

There are also new reminiscences from Belford folk and an intriguing group of photographs from Adderstone Hall Farm in the 1920s and 1930s found at a local postcard fair. The above picture was taken at Adderstone in June 1927. Help is needed to identify people both in the photos and film.

Plus, for those who haven’t already been to see the newly-refurbished building, it is worth it. The 1934 building has been updated sensitively with the original fireplaces and doors being retained.

There are three rooms housing permanent and temporary displays of artefacts, boards detailing the history of the village, reminiscences from Belfordians, an accessible library and a computer interactive display which shows old photographs, maps and a myriad of information.

The museum has too much material to show it all. This Sunday, however, the snooker room will be used as a further display area. The snooker room itself, never open to the public, is a wonderful room with original fixed seating, lighting and snooker table.

Belford Hall is also open over the weekend as is the Belford Eco House alongside events across the weekend at St Mary’s parish church.